Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Iroquois Nationals release 31-man roster

The Iroquois Nationals have named its roster for the 2011 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship in the Czech Republic later this year. 
“This year’s version of the Iroquois Nationals are to be younger and more athletic than previous Iroquois teams,” Nationals veteran Delby Powless told Iorì:wase. “The addition of Jeff Shattler, Jeremy Thompson (if he can play depending on how Syracuse University does) and Logan Kane can give us some added spend and scoring in the transition game.”
Iroquois Nationals general manager, and alumni, Gewas Schindler said they looked at over 100 players to make this team and it wasn’t easy to select the team. 
The current roster of 31 will still need to be cut down to 23 before the World Championships start.
“It was very difficult,” Schindler said. “We still have a few tough decisions to make. There’s lots of great talent.”
Schindler believes that the team they have assembled a great team and has high expectations of it for this year’s WILC.
“This is our best rosters,” Schindler said. “This is our best roster. It’s perfect; not too old; not too young. We are very confident. We are very focused on bringing home a gold medal back to the Haudenosaunee Confederacy.”
Powless, who has played on the two previous Nationals teams, believes some of the younger guys on the roster will provide a lot of talent.
“Offensively there is some younger talent available in a guy like Kedoh Hill,” Powless said. “The offense will be lead by returning vets Cody Jamieson, Brett Bucktooth and Roger Vyse. The defense will benefit from the addition of National Lacrosse League vet Clay Hill. Sid Smith will likely cover the opposition’s top offensive player following his All-World selection in 2007. Tommy Montour and Isiah Kicknosway will also be depended on to run the high pressure defense that is a signature of any team coached by Darris Kilgour.”
In net, the Iroquois Nationals are strong with the tandem of Mike Thompson and Angus Goodleaf – who are teammates with the Buffalo Bandits in the NLL and won a Mann Cup this past summer together with the Peterborough Lakers.
“Goaltending is going to be a strong position for us and will be heavily depended on if we expect to win this tourney,” Powless said. “Mikey Thompson and Angus Goodleaf give us a solid 1-2 combination. Mike was selected the All-World goaltender in 2007 after a great tournament. We may need a repeat performance from him.”
The Iroquois Nationals are ranked second in the world in box lacrosse behind Canada and ahead of the United States. At the inaugural tournament in 2003 Canada defeated the Iroquois Nationals 21-4 for the gold medal. In 2007 in Halifax, the Iroquois Nationals lost a close gold medal game to Canada 15-14 in overtime.
The Iroquois Nationals 2011 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship roster:
Mike Thompson
Angus Goodleaf
Sid Smith
Tom Montour
Brett Bucktooth
Jeff Shattler
Cody Jamieson
Roger Vyse
Craig Point
Jeremy Thompson
Dean Hill
Kedoh Hill
Isiah Kicknosway
Brandon Francis
Travis Hill
Delby Powless
Cory Bomberry
Andy Secore
Logan Kane
Holden Vyse
Cody Johnson
Ron Cogan
Brandon Swamp
Mike Lazore
Peter Jacobs
Stu Hill
Wayne van Every
Jeff Powless
Robbie Jimerson
Dwight Bero

- story by Greg Horn

No comments:

Post a Comment