Thursday, March 24, 2011

QSLL, ILA schedule set

For those of you in eastern Ontario, or if you're just passing by, the 2011 QSLL, ILA season begins Saturday, April 23 when the Akwesasne Braves take on the Montreal Phoenix at the Doug Harvey Arena. The first game in Kahnawake will be one that local lacrosse fans will not want to miss – the QSLL champs, the Kahnawake Mohawks hosting the Caughnawaga Indians – now of the Iroquois Lacrosse Association.
The lacrosse landscape has shifted since last season with both the Indians and the Valleyfield Dinomytes leaving the Quebec Senior Lacrosse League. The Indians have since joined the ILA – which is hosting the 2011 Presidents Cup in Akwesasne – while the Dinomytes have folded.
The Montreal Phoenix, which is a junior all-star team, also joined the leave this season, keeping the QSLL a four-team league. The other teams in the QSLL are the West End Warlocks and the Vermont Voyageurs.
The ILA will also be playing a crossover schedule with the QSLL. The ILA teams are the Indians, Cornwall Island Redmen, Snake Island Muskies and the Akwesasne Braves.

No comments:

Post a Comment